opinion

On game length and respecting the player

On game length and respecting the player

Opinion: ALEX MANN is sick of juggling time and money
By Alex Mann Mar 17 2016, 12:35PM
Call of Duty is just Angry Birds by any other name...

Call of Duty is just Angry Birds by any other name...

Opinion: Call of Duty Black Ops II is now the most pre-ordered game in history, and it's gotten our video guy thinking some odd - but very interesting - thoughts.
By Josh Lundberg May 8 2012, 3:56PM
Paleo-Tech: The HP 300LX Palmtop PC

Paleo-Tech: The HP 300LX Palmtop PC

Opinion: Classic Palmtop computing device - only one careful owner since new! Nic Healey discovered this buried in his spare room.
By Nic Healey Apr 12 2012, 2:16PM
What no new Xbox might mean for PC gamers

What no new Xbox might mean for PC gamers

Opinion: No news isn't necessarily good news, but surely the PC platform has something to gain from no new console hardware on the horizon?
By David Hollingworth Mar 27 2012, 2:43PM
Opinion: Whatever you want to call it, the new iPad is a winner

Opinion: Whatever you want to call it, the new iPad is a winner

Saying it's heavier is really just clutching at straws, argues Adam Turner. Here's why he thinks the new iPad is a bigger improvement than iPad 2.
By Adam Turner Mar 8 2012, 12:57PM
Opinion: Wrong directory, wrong text, wrong button

Opinion: Wrong directory, wrong text, wrong button

So you're asked to click "Next", but there isn't a "Next". If there is one thing that annoys Jon Honeyball, it's lazy coding.
By Jon Honeyball Feb 29 2012, 3:17PM
[UPDATED] Opinion: Hey, Vodafone, I want my LTE

[UPDATED] Opinion: Hey, Vodafone, I want my LTE

Speed tests, smartphones, twitter and the mysterious case of the Vodafone’s disappearing LTE network.
By Nic Healey Feb 8 2012, 5:07PM
Building a better game engine

Building a better game engine

Opinion: Could Microsoft hurry up and release its next console, so we can all get some proper game engine advances?!
By Ashton Mills Feb 6 2012, 11:36AM
Opinion: Microsoft should make its own Windows 8 PCs

Opinion: Microsoft should make its own Windows 8 PCs

It's time for Microsoft to start making PCs, argues Nicole Kobie. Read her argument.
By Nicole Kobie Jan 4 2012, 1:29PM
Opinion: It's time to boot out the bad stuff

Opinion: It's time to boot out the bad stuff

Jon Honeyball sticks his neck out and says he doesn't see why the majority of PC users should be at risk just because an alternative OS won’t support secure boot
By Jon Honeyball Dec 14 2011, 1:54PM
Opinion: Our cloud masters will have their way

Opinion: Our cloud masters will have their way

Something very dangerous is happening. Our rights are being taken away, not in little nibbles and chunks, but in a wholesale rout.
By Jon Honeyball Dec 1 2011, 9:17AM
Opinion: Our cloud masters will have their way

Opinion: Our cloud masters will have their way

Something very dangerous is happening. Our rights are being taken away, not in little nibbles and chunks, but in a wholesale rout.
By Jon Honeyball Nov 30 2011, 11:00AM
The Skyrim Shitstorm

The Skyrim Shitstorm

Opinion: Ashton Mills likes his games functional and moddable, and it seems that's the opposite of what Bethesda wants from Skyrim. Damn...
By Ashton Mills Nov 24 2011, 12:30PM
Opinion: Microsoft OneNote...If You Haven't, You Really Should

Opinion: Microsoft OneNote...If You Haven't, You Really Should

Once exposed to the world of OneNote it will quickly become one of your most used applications, perhaps second only to email, argues John Cirocco
By John Cirocco Nov 9 2011, 4:21PM
Opinion: What happens when your Gmail account is deactivated?

Opinion: What happens when your Gmail account is deactivated?

The chilling account of a man who woke up one morning to find that his Gmail account had been deactivated.
By Barry Collins Nov 7 2011, 1:39PM
Opinion: What GTA V Needs

Opinion: What GTA V Needs

It's time to shake things up in the Grand Theft Auto universe. Here are five ideas we'd like to see...
By Chris Jager Oct 26 2011, 2:47PM
Opinion: Why I went from Mac back to Windows

Opinion: Why I went from Mac back to Windows

Josh Lundberg thought he'd never buy another PC again. Here he explains what happened that changed his mind.
By Josh Lundberg Oct 26 2011, 11:31AM
Opinion: The PC is far from dead

Opinion: The PC is far from dead

The PC is far from dead, it's just in sleep mode, argues Barry Collins.
By Barry Collins Oct 20 2011, 11:49AM
Opinion: Matte versus glossy? On reflection, I prefer shiny screens

Opinion: Matte versus glossy? On reflection, I prefer shiny screens

The majority view seems to be that the sharp reflection is a bad thing, and that a matte finish is preferable. Here's why Jon Honeyball disagrees.
By Jon Honeyball Oct 7 2011, 12:23PM
Will Windows 8 really block Linux installs?

Will Windows 8 really block Linux installs?

One of the big concerns is that Windows 8 and UEFI will impact users wanting to dual boot with Linux. Nathan Taylor looks at the issue.
By Nathan Taylor Sep 29 2011, 4:26PM