How to: Delete your Skype account

By
How to: Delete your Skype account

Want to delete your Skype account but don't know how? Read on for our handy guide.

As is the norm with online service providers, deleting Skype is no mean feat. Given the myriad accounts you will have linked with – payment methods, your Microsoft account etc – it can be quite an unwieldy process.

Don't fear, though. We've collated the process into a simple step-by-step guide, so you can cull the platform from your online account portfolio if you so choose. Whether you're taking a technology detox or just trying to dodge that needy aunt on a more permanent basis, follow our guide to deleting Skype for good.

Before you embark on this liberating journey, an important distinction to make is whether you signed up for Skype with a Microsoft account or not. If you did, then closing your Skype account permanently will also delete its linked Microsoft account. This is an obvious inconvenience; your Microsoft account may also be your key to the company's other services, including Outlook.com, OneDrive, Xbox Live and so on. So a pretty important step to take in this case is to unlink the accounts to ensure you can still benefit from Microsoft's other services once you've culled Skype from the lineup.

How to delete your Skype account

1. Sign in to your Skype account at skype.com in a web browser.

2. Scroll down to the bottom of the webpage and click Account settings under the My account heading. 

3. Next to your Microsoft account, click Unlink. NB: if the option reads Not linked rather than Unlink, your Skype and Microsoft accounts are not linked, so you can skip ahead to Step 5. 

4. Select Continue when a confirmation message appears. NB: you can only unlink your accounts a limited number of times. If you receive a message informing you that you cannot unlink the two accounts, contact Skype Support here

5. You will have to cancel any Skype subscription or recurring payments. In your web browser, navigate your payments using the blue bar on the left, simply selecting the subscription you want to cancel and clicking Cancel Subscription, and then Thanks, but no thanks, I still want to cancel. NB: if you want to request a refund for any Skype subscriptions that you haven't used, now might be your chance. Either fill out the online Cancellation and Refund form or live chat with Skype's support staff.

6. If you did purchase a Skype Number where people can ring you, it's worth cancelling it before closing your account. Select Skype Number in the Manage Features section, then click Settings and then Cancel Skype Number. Your Skype Number will remain active until its expiry date, after which Microsoft will reserve your Skype Number for 90 days. 

7. If you use Auto-Recharge to automatically top up your Skype balance when needed, go to Account Details, then Billing & Payments, then Disable under the Auto-Recharge tab right next to Status

8. By now, all Skype subscriptions should be cancelled and all recurring payments removed, freeing you up to contact Skype Customer Service and inform them that you'd like to close your account. 

9. Go to Skype's account closure page. Ensure you're logged in with the account you want to close. Click Next.

10. In the Select a reason drop-down list, pick the reason you're closing the account.

11. Select Mark account for closure.

...and you're done! Although, not quite, as Skype gives you a 60-day deliberation period to mull over whether you truly want to quite the video-calling platform for good. Once those 60 days have elapsed you'll be rid of your Skype account for good. If you do have a change of heart, and want to rescue your account from the jaws of internet abyss, all you have to do is sign back in to cancel the closure.

This article originally appeared at alphr.com

Copyright © Alphr, Dennis Publishing
Tags:

Most Read Articles

Hackers using brute-force attacks to infiltrate e-mail systems protected by MFA

Hackers using brute-force attacks to infiltrate e-mail systems protected by MFA

Re-designed Gmail poses new potential threat to 1.4 billion users

Re-designed Gmail poses new potential threat to 1.4 billion users

GitHub now warns you about flaws affecting your Python code

GitHub now warns you about flaws affecting your Python code

My Health Record: the case for opting out

My Health Record: the case for opting out